News Feature: Agnor agrarian coop, farmer beneficiary receive national awards

piaBUTUAN CITY, Dec. 1 (PIA) -- The Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR) Central Office conferred the prestigious awards to Baug CARP Beneficiaries Multi-Purpose Cooperative (BCBMPC) and Ruben Ragas as the Most Progressive Organization and Most Outstanding Agrarian Reform Beneficiary (ARB), respectively, during the commemoration of the DAR Annual Awards and Recognition, in line with the celebration of International Year of Family Farming (IYFF), held at the Bureau of Soils and Water Management (BSWM) Convention Center, Quezon City, last November 24, 2014.

Agusan del Norte Provincial Agrarian Reform Program Officer (PARPO II) Andre B. Atega commended BCBMPC and Ragas for modeling the success in Comprehensive Agrarian Reform Program (CARP) implementation.

“The two awardees are literal showcases of success in agrarian reform program implementation in this province,” PARPO Atega said.

BCBMPC is a story of true grit and determination of 110 ARB members, who struggled from crab hunters to become bankers.

From a capital of P30,000.00, BCBMPC now stands in hundreds of millions and expected to be one of the billionaire coops in the country in the next five years.

After more than a decade of spectacular growth, BCBMPC operates a bank-like system, which provide financial knowledge and assistance to many small borrowers including Ragas, who now become an outstanding ARB.

Ruben Ragas is a vegetable grower and farmer entrepreneur who now earns about half a million pesos yearly from the 2-hectare land acquired through land distribution program of the government.

BCBMPC has been a recipient of an array of prestigious awards in the last four years which included the Gawad sa Pinakatanging Kooperatiba (Gawad Pitak), that in 2013, it was conferred with Hall of Fame Award under the Agri-Based category with P100,000 worth of fixed assets.

In 2013, Ragas was the regional awardee on Gawad Saka 2013 Most Outstanding high valued crop category during the 11th Annual Vegetable Congress and this year was conferred last August 8, 2014 as the 1st runner-up as Ulirang Magsasaka.

Both BCBMPC and Ragas are inspiration to all coops and individual ARBs in Agusan del Norte. (Gil E. Miranda, DAR-Agusan del Norte/PIA-Agusan del Norte)