Farmer organizations in Surigao province undergo Agrarian Credit Program orientation

piaSURIGAO DEL NORTE, June 11 -- Agrarian Reform Beneficiaries Organizations (ARBOs) from different municipalities of Surigao del Norte were recently oriented on Agrarian Production Credit Program (APCP) to provide financial assistance to the farmer-beneficiaries to improve their farming activities.

APCP, forged by the Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR), the Department of Agriculture (DA) and the Landbank of the Philippines (LBP), provide assistance to agrarian reform beneficiaries through their respective organizations to support their individual or communal crop production projects and other projects.

The credit program also intends to provide necessary interventions to prepare the farmers to become bankable and eventually graduate to the regular lending window of the bank. 

The identified ARBOs are Ima Women’s Initiated Community Association (IWICA) of Barangay Ima, Sison; San Pedo Rural Workers Association (SAPRUWA) of Barangay San Pedro, Alegria; Himamaug Agrarian Reform Beneficiaries Cooperative (HARBCO) of Barangay Himamaug, Taganaan;

Cantapoy Farmers and Fisherfolks Credit Cooperative (CAFFCRECO) of Barangay Cantapoy, Malimono; Esperanza Farmers Credit Cooperative (ESFARCRECO) of Barangay Experanza, Del Carmen; Rural Improvement Club Producers Cooperative (RICPROCO) of Barangay Capalayan, Surigao City; and Union Agro-Aqua Credit Cooperative (UNAACO) of Barangay Union, Dapa.

A total of 289 farmer-members of the said ARBOs were introduced to the agrarian credit program: 32 from IWICA, 31 from SAPRUWA, 82 from HARBCO, 26 from CAFFCRECO, 35 from ESFARCRECO, 48 from RICPROCO and 35 members of UNAACO.

The orientation was conducted by a team from the DAR’s Program Beneficiaries and Development Division of Surigao del Norte headed by Senior Agrarian Reform Program Officer Lina S. Alvarez. (DAR)