ADB to keep aid to RP’s agrarian reform

on .

news national 1 pix 1 sept. 1 2016DILIMAN, Quezon City (Sept. 1, 2016)— A representative from the Asian Development Bank (ADB) committed to continue the bank’s assistance to cover more agrarian reform communities (ARCs) in Mindanao.

ADB Country Director Jiangfeng Zhang made the statement during his courtesy call to DAR Secretary Rafael Mariano. He said the ADB would continue its partnership with the Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR) even with the final stage of the second phase implementation of the Agrarian Reform Communities Project (ARCP2) in ARCs.

Zhang reported to the Secretary that ARCP2’s six-year intervention has helped the DAR construct around 126 roads, five irrigation facilities, eight potable water systems and 27 post-harvest facilities.
Under ARCP2, Zhang said more than 18,000 agrarian reform beneficiaries (ARBs) were enabled to have access to credit, 3,349 ARBs adopted agri-production technology and more than 27,000 jobs were generated from the construction of infrastructure projects.

The ARCP2 has a total project cost of P8.6 billion which provided for the construction of infrastructure facilities and livelihood programs for ARC’s, mostly in Bicol, Visayas and Mindanao regions.

The ARCs that benefitted from ARCP are located in Romblon, Marinduque, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Sorsogon, Negros Occidental, Leyte, Eastern Samar, Northern Samar, Western Samar, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay, Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, Tawi-tawi, Basilan and Sulu.

Mariano extended his gratitude and appreciation to the ADB for their generous and diligent support to the rural development projects and programs of the Department. He assured Zhang that under his management, ARCP would remain to be a priority foreign assisted project. (pinky roque)

Photo: Secretary Rafael Mariano welcomes ADB Country Director Jiangfeng Zhang to his office when the latter paid him a courtesy call. Also in photo are ADB officials Sununtar Setboonsang and Leonard Leung, DAR Undersecretaries Sylvia Mallari and Herman Ongkiko, DAR Assistant Secretary Minnie San Juan and DAR Director Celerina Afable.