sec bleong
BENJAMIN T. LEONG, Secretary, DAR (April 6, 1990 to June 30, 1992)

President Corazon Aquino's administration saw many changes in the DAR leadership. According to some observers, this led to lack of continuity in priorities, programs and projects in the Department. Secretary Juico's resignation followed the designation of three Secretaries in a row, namely: Miriam D. Santiago, Florencio B. Abad and Benjamin T. Leong. With the three secretaries came new  policies and new perspectives to implement CARP.

Since Secretary Santiago and Secretary Abad's stay were short lived, it was Secretary Benjamin Leong who had the opportunity to continue where Secretary Juico left off. Through his administration, the implementing rules and mechanisms for the different Executive Orders to speed up CARP implementation (405, 406, 407 and 448) were established to:
  • Create Agro-Industrial Development Areas (AIDAs) to align programs and projects of CARP implementing agencies;
  • Establish CARP Implementing Teams (CITs) from the national to the municipal levels to facilitate identification of priority areas for coverage, solve operating problems and  coordinated the delivery of support services;
  • Indentify Strategic Operating Provinces where greater part of CARP activities will be concentrated to intend the direct use of resources effectively.
    At the end of Secretary Leong’s administration, a total of 170,904 tenants were beneficiaries of Leasehold Operation covering 267,160 hectares. Application of nine corporations for the Stock Distribution Option covering 7,275 hectares were approved and 84 firms distributed 216.2 million of production and profit shares to 81,992 farmworkers. (The Record and Legacy of the Aquino Administration in AR: Executive Summary, Planning Service-DAR)

It was also during this time of the Department that the Agrarian Justice component or AJD was recognized by the CARP public through the development of the Paralegal Program and because of the quasi-judicial power of the DAR through the DARAB (Department of Agrarian Reform Adjudication Board).